Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

…on a cloudy day. Well maybe not really- it is cloudy today for the record. However, I do have “my girls” to keep me inspired and excited. I thought I would give you a look at some of my favorite blogs and bloggers. I learn so much from these ladies and really trust their opinion on makeup, accessories and fashion.

1. Nikki Phillippi- I know I have talked about her a ton before, but her complexion is so close to mine and I really love her fashion sense. She always gives honest opinions and I never feel like she is just promoting something because of a relationship with the company. One of my favorite things about Nikki is her sense of humor and tendency to make fun of herself. She doesn’t take herself too seriously and that makes it more fun to watch her videos. I feel like she is actually my friend (yes, I know that sounds creepy).
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/NikkiPhillippi
Blog: http://nikkiphillippi.com/

2. Rachel Talbott- She is seriously gorgeous. Watching her videos and seeing her photos on her blog makes me want to try out whatever it is that she is doing. She is daring when it comes to fashion and has a really great girly side that makes me want to be girly. She is that girl that you want to be, I guess (wow, that sounds creepy too). She is also the blogger that taught me all about eBay (I won my first auction today- get excited)! Plus, when you watch her closets you get to drool over her amazing office/closet that is seriously a whole room. Girlfriend has the most amazing shoe collection too.
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/CheckInTheMirror?ob=0
Blog: http://www.checkinthemirror.blogspot.com/

3. Bailey Brown-This girl is really relatable. She seems to be a college student who does videos and blogs from her dorm room, but I love how much it feels like you are just listening to a girlfriend chat. She also does really great and easy to follow tutorials (do more of these Bailey). She is also a finalist in the Allure Beauty Blogger of the Year which is super cool. This is where I found out about Little Black Bag, which I will tell you more about below YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/TheHazeleyehoney?ob=0&feature=results_main
Blog: http://www.makingupthemw.com

4.Whitney Love- I just found Whitney about a week ago, but she is totally daring. I don’t know that I am brave enough to try all of her amazing makeup trends, but I completely love them. I think she is a makeup artist if I remember correctly, which makes sense because she is very talented. Artist is really the only word for Ms. Whitney. She also does a great job of showing you what she uses in her looks and the best part is that it is not all expensive makeup. She uses some brands and types that are easier on your pocketbook. Follow her blog or add her on Facebook (just tell her I sent you).
Blog: http://whitneylovesmakeup.wordpress.com/

So I did mention earlier that I would tell you about Little Black Bag. It is AH-MAZING! I have never been a purse/bag fanatic just because they were so expensive, but this site makes designer bags more affordable. Here is how it works: First you select one designer item of your choice- it could be a bag, jewelry, makeup, items for your house or accessories. Then you pay the fee ($49.50- expensive, but just wait so I can finish) then the site using your quiz from the beginning to pick two items it thinks you will like. Then if you don’t like those items you have the ability to trade them with other members for items you DO like. I liked the necklace that they picked out for me, but was not crazy about the earrings and ended up trading them for a pair that I think my mom will like. The gorgeous Steve Madden bag (at right) that I picked out retailed for $98 so right there it is already a deal not to mention the necklace and earrings. I kind of love the site. Check it out. It definitely is a bit expensive, but is worth at least trying out once or twice.

Finally, the big news of the day? My vanity and tool came in!!! It’s beautiful and I am totally in love. Pat was such a good husband. He got home from class a little before 8:00 and still stopped to help me finish putting it together before eating and heading to bed. I think he knew how excited I was. He definitely got brownie points tonight. Anyway, it’s completely fabulous and I am excited to get my little drawers from the container store to finish it off. I will post a picture of my set-up on here once it is all finalized. I wish I could show it to you now, but alas I want to wait until I can show you the finished product.

Product I’m drooling over: Still coconut oil. My good friend posted in my last blog to check health food stores so I think I will try that out this weekend. Thanks for the tip, Heather! Also, I have been eyeing the NAKED palette and the rumored similiar Nude ‘Tude palette from The Balm. I am dying to go to the Nordstrom Rack (about an hour away) and see if they still have any there.

