Tags

, , , , ,

I got my bling in August of 2010. My husband surprised me in my townhouse with my amazing ring and a gorgeous diamond necklace. He had then planned a whole day of romantic and sweet activities. We went to see Mary Poppins at the Kennedy Center and then went for a horse-drawn carriage ride through Washington D.C. The ride ended with a dinner cruise on the Potomac River. My second piece of bling has been on my ring finger since October 29, 2011. It was rainy, snowy and the coldest day we experienced all winter, but it was a perfect day. Now before I get too mushy gushy (too late, I know) let me tell you why I am thinking about bling.

I recently picked up Essie’s Set in Stones Luxe Effects polish. I have been dying to try out the glitter fade look. I don’t think I nailed it perfectly, but I still love it. The Essie polish creates such a glamorous look- it would be perfect for a big party, bachelorette party or holiday party.

As usual I layered my manicure with Orly Bonder on the bottom. I then applied two coats of Orly in Passion Fruit. To create the fade look I applied one coat of Essie’s Set in Stones to the top half of my nails. I then applied a second coat of the Essie polish, but this time covering just the top quarter of my nail. This creates a more concentrated coat right at the tip of the nail. I finished it off with a layer of Sally Hansen clear topcoat. I really love how glamorous these are and I am excited to combine the Essie polish with other colors.

I am always going to do some research and see what other designs I can create with this polish. What ways have you applied glitzy polishes like this?

