Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This week has taken stress to an all new level. I started grad school and it has been amazing and interesting and very tiring. I leave my house at 7:00 a.m. and get home after 10:00 p.m. That doesn’t even include the homework and the reading. It feels so good to be learning and moving to a new chapter in my life though. My feathers may be ruffled, but sometimes a little ruffling of the feathers can be refreshing. Who would have thought I would ever say that?

This brings me to my entry for the day. I have taken a few days off from my 30 days challenge due to my crazy schedule this week (I know, I know- excuses, excuses), but I am ready for the next step- and arguably the toughest challenge out of all of them.

Day 6: A picture of animal print eyeshadow

I spent days thinking about how to do this one. I wasn’t sure I had the tools and skills to pull off a leopard print or cheetah eyeshadow. My creative take on this challenge was to attempt to create a peacock feather eye look. Let me be clear- this was my ATTEMPT. I’d love to master this, but it’s a good first try (also, please ignore my hairy scary eyebrows- I am working on getting an appointment to get them waxed).

I used my Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion to prime my eyes. I then applied my E.L.F. Mineral Eyeshadow in Earthyaround the lash line and above the crease and out to a cat eye point. Inside that tear drop of Earthy I applied E.L.F. Mineral Eyeshadow in Bronzed in the same pattern. Finally in the center I used the Urban Decay Glide-On 24/7 Shadow Pencil in Clash, which is a great teal color with a slight sparkle to it. Then in the very center of the lash and the Clash color I applied a deeper blue in E.L.F. Mineral Eyeshadow in Beachy. I then applied MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack and L’oreal Voluminous in Carbon Black.

I do like the look of the peacock feather, but I think it has a long way to go to be identifiable by others as a peacock feather. On a side note, I really do like these E.L.F. Mineral Eyeshadows. They have great color and glitter and seriously give you some sparkle. I got these on a web deal from E.L.F. where you spent $30 and got 10 of these eyeshadows for free. I definitely think I will invest in more of these at some point. The colors are seriously gorgeous.

In other news I got a delivery from eBay yesterday that was my best deal so far. I found four sweaters for $5.50 plus shipping. Three of these were Banana Republic sweaters and one is a NY&Co. They were pre-owned, but suprisingly they arrived in perfect condition and the Banana Republic ones are incredibly soft. God bless eBay! Seriously, I love it. You can find the best stuff on there.

