Tags

, , , , , , ,

I finally picked up some Nyx products this month! This was my first mini haul from Nyx and it was, as always, courtesy of Hautelook. I did pick up some more Nyx from Ulta this weekend which I will tell you about soon, but first let me tell you why I was interested. I had read over and over again on beauty blogs that Nyx lip liners, when applied underneath lipstick, would increase the longevity of your lipstick. I was determined to try it out.

20120612-165821.jpgSo I picked up two sets off Hautelook. Before i get to the lip set I will start with my cream blush set. I picked up this three piece cream blush set and I love it. It is so great for throwing one of these in my bag for the day for a quick touch up when I need it. The set includes Pink Poppy, Tea Rose and Orchid as the three colors. I love the coral color of Orchid since it is a different shade than what I normally wear. The packaging on these is great as you just twist the tube to extend the product out of the tube. They are super travel friendly and erase the need to pack a brush and compact for touch-ups. I definitely will blend these out with a brush at home, but you can easily use your fingers if you are on the go and trying to lighten your load. They are a bit sticky to the touch at first after applying, but a little powder or some blending will take care of this easily.

20120610-202055.jpgThe other set I purchased was the NYX Bare Your Secrets lip set. This included a slim lipliner/pencil (Nude Pink), an Xtreme Lip Cream (Skin Tone), a jumbo lip pencil (Pink Nude) and a round lipstick (Pure Nude). The colors were all complimenting of each other and could be worn together. I love the color of the lipstick. It is just a good everyday nude pink color. I would say the same about the lip cream, although I don’t wear a lot of glosses because they don’t stay as long as I would like. The jumbo lip pencil is great for a quick on the go color swatch, but it’s a little too sparkly pink for my taste. It looks great swatched here, but for some reason the color didn’t translate as well on my lips. Now to the slim lip pencil. I was a bit disappointed, not because of the quality, but because my lips don’t seem to be moisturized enough to pull off lip liner all over the surface and topped with lipstick. It just looked patchy and highlighted drier spots on my lips. I have seen this work amazingly for other girls, but if you tend to have drier lips then I would avoid it. These are swatched in the order that they are pictured above.

I have picked up some additional NYX makeup since then so stay tuned for more on that. Do you have a favorite NYX color? Share it with me!

