Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have completely gone wild(e). I’ve thrown caution to the wind and reduced security at my comfort zone. Okay, well maybe I am exaggerating, but the truth is that I am much more open to trying new things lately, especially when it comes to makeup. I have always applied my eye makeup in a demure and under-stated fashion, partly because of my slightly shy personality and partly because I just wasn’t brave enough to try anything else. However, after watching roughly two million YouTube videos and gaining lots of confidence from my lovely little readers I don’t mind sharing some new looks that I am still working at. This post will be partly a trial makeup look as well as the next challenge in my 30 day makeup challenge.

Day 10: Makeup inspired by a celebrity

This inspiration started after watching a video on Pixiwoo’s channel on YouTube. If you have been reading for a while you probably have seen me post about this tutorial before. I love the way Olivia Wilde does her eye makeup and I loved this super easy-to-follow tutorial that Pixiwoo put up. Now I am not claiming that my trial here looks anything like the example on YouTube, but I actually kind of loved the results. I felt like it was something so different than my everyday look and it made me spring out the door feeling like today was a little different.

20120622-112613.jpgSo here is what I used. I started with Urban Decay’s primer potion. I then applied a layer of Naked from the Naked Palette all over the lid (if I was to do this again I think I would try to find a color that is even lighter with my skin tone and definitely keep it away from the inner corner). Then I took an eyeliner brush and applied Creep from the NAKED palette (this is a deep shimmery grayish black) along the outer top lash line like I would apply a gel liner. I flicked it out a little to create some depth and then created a V by applying this ever so lightly into the outer corner of my crease. I then took Sexy from the Nude ‘Tude Palette from The Balm and filled in the crease section to just give a pop of a burgandy/maroon color.  I took Creep again and brushed a little of the eyeliner along my bottom lash line and stretching out to the wing I had created. I applied Smashbox liner in Onyx to the outer corner of my upper lash line and in the upper and lower waterlines of my eye. Finally, I topped the eyelashes off with Bad Gal Lash from Benefit. You don’t have to have all of these same colors that I used because heck, I didn’t use what Pixiwoo used. As long as you have a nude, deep gray/black and a shadow that gives you a hint of color you can totally make this work for you. And, hey, don’t be afraid to try new things out. I did and now I think I will be working on this look some more to perfect it, but this will definitely be a look I use more.

On a side note, how amazing is Olivia Wilde? I seriously can’t stop checking out her makeup in photos.

