Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the 4th of July approaching next week I have been feeling awfully patriotic. My hubby will be busy at work on his military base so I am trying to figure out how to celebrate at home with just me and the pups. I thought nails would be the perfect way to celebrate the 4th and then, of course, follow it up with 2484629 hours of homework (I think I can, I think I can).

20120628-214050.jpgBut really, here is my attempt. I may redo these before the 4th. I am waiting for some nail strips to arrive which would be great for stripe designs. For this design I used my Orly Bonder base coat and O.P.I. in Got the Blues for Red on four of my fingers. I then applied Essie in Aruba Blue on my ring fingers. I applied a second coat and then my Seche Vite top coat to allow the base color to dry. I then used my Sally Hansen Nail Art Pen in White to freehand the stripes and stars. This was not perfect by any means (which is why I might redo it), but it was fun to be creative with the stripes. To top of the big star on each ring finger I used an adhesive rhinestone blue star. These didn’t stick well so I packed on th Seche Vite to hopefully give them some extra hold and it did seem to help.

I actually love the festiv nature of these and am excited to try some other new designs with the tools. Practice makes perfect, right? What other stars and stripes designs are you trying? If you are not in the U.S. what patriotic designs have you tried out?

We hit 100 subscribers so look for the post about the big giveaway tomorrow. I am so excited to see what you guys think! If you didn’t see my post earlier be sure to follow the blog on our new twitter account @OhApostrophe1. Love you, lovelies!!

 

