Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

20120725-212821.jpgThe time is upon is! The 2012 London Olympics have already started (a little under the radar, but whatever). Some competition has already begun and the opening ceremonies are this Friday. I keep telling everyone that and no one seems quite as excited as I am. I seriously am obsessed. You know what else makes me excited (you really are going to laugh at me now)?  We have some super cute and in fashion gymnasts competing for the U.S. this year. I am so stoked to see what makeup and fashion they are sporting- you know, besides the leotards.

So to honor the games I have been looking for a unique Olympics themed manicure online and I found a winner. It combines my 20120725-212846.jpglove for the Olympics with my love for all things beauty! So here is what I did. I applied a coat of Orly bonder first. Then I used Sinful Colors nail polish in White as my base coast. I applied three coats of this, as the polish is not super thick and needs to be built up a bit. Then I went through my polish collection and attempted to find the colors closest to the Olympic rings’ colors within my collection. I did not have a green color so I used some my elementary art skills and swirled together the blue and yellow polishes to give me a green. For the blue ring I used Essie in Aruba. The yellow ring was made using Circus by Andrea’s Choice in Somersault. The Black ring was from Sally Hansen in Pat in on Black. The red ring was made using O.P.I. in Got the Blues for Red. I used a nail art brush and free-handed my rings. Word to the wise- these would look so much better with some kind of circle guide like circle bandaids or hole reinforcers. I was just plain lazy tonight.

Anyway, this is my attempt at a creative Olympics tribute. I have seen a lot of British flags and nails will all of the rings on one finger and I just don’t have the skills for it tonight.

Next up for nails next week is a sunset themed manicure. I gotta get ready for the beach!

